Harmonix is releasing new DLC for Rock Band 3, 21 months after it ceased production on new content for the game.

Three songs are coming to Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 on January 21: "R U Mine?" from the Arctic Monkey's 2013 release AM, "Shepherd Of Fire" from Avenged Sevenfold's 2013 album Hail to the King, and "Something from Nothing," the lead single off the recently released Foo Fighters album Sonic Highways.

Each will cost US$2, and is also compatible with Rock Band Blitz.

No reason was given for the unexpected return, and it’s not clear if more songs will follow, although the company did refer to its 21 month break as a “hiatus”.

“We've missed rocking with all of you,” it said.

In February of 2013, Harmonix announced that the last song DLC for the game would release that April.

It has released more than 4000 songs for the Rock Band series to date.