The individual award finalists for this month’s Play By Play festival have been announced.

The individual awards are a new addition to the Play By Play awards ceremony, which takes place next Saturday in Wellington.

The Rising Star Award (Te Maunga Kai Kapua (Teina)) nominees are Magic Leap game programmer Jordan Carlton, Runaway Play polymath Lisa Blakie, digital technologies teacher and game development advocate Tyne Crow, and Little Lost Fox game designer and producer Niamh Fitzgerald.

The Industry Pillar Award (Te Maunga Kai Kapua (Tuakana)) nominees are Runaway Play managing director Zoe Hobson, Weta Gameshop/Magic Leap producer and former NZGDA chairperson James Everett, and PikPok co-founder and managing director Mario Wynands.

The former award will recognise a rising star in the New Zealand game industry, while the latter will go to a stalwart industry pillar in the New Zealand community who has raised the profile and helped build the national industry into what it is today.

This year, the festival’s awards will also celebrate games based on deliverables and expression. You can see the nominated games here.

Play By Play is a vibrant, inclusive week-long event centered around games, play and digital creativity for all ages that will run from April 16-21.