Blizzard has announced the Overwatch Pacific Championship, a professional Overwatch esports league based in Taipei.

The OPC's first season kicks off on April 8, and will see eight professional teams from Australia (Blank Esports), Hong Kong (Hong Kong Attitude), Japan (SunSister, DeToNator GOLD), Taiwan (Machi Esports, ahq eSports Club, Flash Wolves), and Thailand (FireBall) battle over an 11-week regular season.

The top three teams will advance to the playoffs, and there is a prize pool of AU$357,000 (about NZ$386k).

All OPC matches will be played offline and streamed live here each week during the season, from Friday through Sunday.