For the first time, EA will include women’s teams in its flagship soccer franchise.

FIFA 16 will feature 12 women’s teams: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, England, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Spain, Sweden, and the USA.

The women’s teams will be playable in several game modes including Kick Off and Online Friendly Matches, but can only play against other women’s teams.

The movement of all players was captured in a motion capture session at EA Canada with four top players from United States Women’s National Team: Sydney Leroux, Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, and Megan Rapinoe.

The players’ movements helped to build new locomotion for women in FIFA 16 including new walks, runs, sprints, and horizontal movement. Soccer Canada also visited EA to provide full-player references captured using the 360 degree body scanning rig. The references were then used to develop new player models.

Moreover, a mobile headscanning unit travelled to a variety of tournaments and events around the world to capture facial features including hairstyles to ensure players look as realistic as possible.

“The entire Westfield Matildas team are honoured and excited about this exposure for the game, especially at a time when women’s football is exploding in popularity.” said Matildas (Australian women's national soccer team) vice captain Kyah Simon.

“For Australia to be included as one of the 12 Women’s National Teams in FIFA 16 – is another massive platform to showcase just how far women’s football has come. I am a huge fan of the FIFA video game franchise and think this move will have such a positive impact on the sport.”

FIFA 16 launches for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and Windows PC on September 25.

A franchise first: FIFA 16 will feature 12 women's teams