Destiny 2's first expansion, Forsaken, has been revealed and is coming to PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC on September 4.

Set within The Reef, Forsaken will add two new destinations; The Dreaming City and The Tangled Shore.

As well as obligatory new loot, Destiny 2: Forsaken will add:

Nine additional Supers across the three classes' respective abilities

A New Raid set within The Dreaming City zone

New weapon type: the Legendary Bow

Another feature coming in Forsaken is a new game mode. Gambit is a hybrid PvP and PvE encounter that will stand apart from Crucible and Strike playlists. In Gambit, two teams for four will square off against their own waves of enemies, collecting motes of Light until they are able to invade the competing team's area.

“Since the launch of the Destiny franchise, we have always strived to create innovative experiences that will challenge and reward different kinds of players and ensure their beloved pastime is rewarding,” said project lead Scott Taylor. “We can’t wait to share Forsaken’s new Gambit mode with our fans and offer them a new way to play that can be enjoyed competitively and cooperatively.”

Furthermore, Forsaken will bring back a number of features from Destiny 1. Random rolls for gear is returning, giving hardcore players the choice to chase the perfect weapon. The loadout system is also opening up to allow a return to the classic slot loadouts of Primary, Secondary, and Heavy. D2's system will remain as an option as well, but players will now have more freedom to choose the load out they desire, including a hypothetical "all-shotguns" arsenal... because Crucible didn't have enough salt as it is.

The last Guardians saw of The Reef was during Destiny 1's House of Wolves DLC. Following Queen Mara Sov's disappearance (I still maintain her and her brother survived the battle against Oryx), the Reef has fallen to disrepair and lawlessness.

As Bungie describes:

You and Cayde-6 are sent to personally investigate the recent unrest. Upon arrival, you soon discover the most-wanted criminals in the Prison of Elders have organized an escape. Beyond the Vanguard’s authority, you’ll pursue these fugitives deep into the Reef. Explore new regions, awaken new powers, earn powerful weapons, and uncover long lost Awoken secrets. The hunt is on.

During today's livestream reveal, Bungie's community manager David 'Deej' Dague discussed the time frame of upcoming additions following the release of Forsaken in September. Black Armory will release summer 2018, Joker's Wild in autumn 2019, and Penumbra in winter 2019.

Dague didn't go into much detail regarding the content associated with the Annual Pass, other than to say it won't be as story-heavy as previous DLC from Destiny 2's first year.

Forsaken will remain exclusive to on PC.

As was the case in previous Destiny releases, those on PlayStation will gain access to timed-exclusive content including a new Strike, one new gear set per class, a new ship, and an exotic weapon.

Destiny 2's first expansion, Forsaken, announced