League of Legends will join CS:GO and Rocket League in the ESL's third and final season of its 2017 AU & NZ Championships.

The LoL competition will run for six weeks from September 16, with the top 2 teams from each of four cups progressing through to an online finals series.

The online finals will be played as a single elimination bracket with the top teams from the online cups to be joined by invited teams from the OPL.

From there, the top four teams from the online finals will be invited to the ESL Studios Sydney in November where they will compete in a two day finals event in front of a live studio audience to determine who takes the lion's share of a AU$10,000 prize pool.

Meanwhile, the ESL's third season this year of Counter-Strike: Global Offensive will act as the local portion of the ESL ZEN League, which hosts the top six teams in Australia and New Zealand.

It will see Chiefs, Grayhound, Athletico, Tainted Minds, Kings and Legacy battle it out in a best of two format competition running September 12 to October 12.

The final four teams (two from ANZ and two from Asia) will play in a LAN final, and the Grand Final will be played out on the PAX Arena Stage at PAX AUS 2017, which is in Melbourne on October 27-29. The prize pool for the even is AU$30k.

Finally, Rocket League will return for season 3 with another AU$7500 prize pool. Open qualifiers will commence on September 16, and the top teams from the qualifying stages along with the semi-finalists from season 2 will be invited to a final Invitational Qualifier.

Six teams from the Invitational will make it into the eight-team league, which runs from September 26 to November 7.

The top four teams at the conclusion of the seven weeks will take part in a live finals series that will be played at ESL Studios in Sydney in November.